USA Rugby Structure Series: Pacific South Competitive Region


By Jason Graves

In this post continuing my series providing an overview of the USA Rugby structure I’ll take a look at the Pacific South CR with encompasses Southern California, the very southern tip of Nevada, and the states of Arizona, and New Mexico.

The Pacific South is comprised of the Southern California Rugby Union (SCRFU), The Local Area Unions of Arizona and the Rio Grande (New Mexico) with a total of three Men’s divisions (D1 – D3) and two Women’s divisions (D1 – D2).  Again, as with my previous posts, I will focus on the Men’s divisions with information of the Women coming in later posts.  Let’s start with D1.

The D1 clubs consists of familiar names like Belmont Shore Rugby, OMBAC (Old Mission Bay Athletic Club), Santa Monica Dolphins, Tempe Old Devils, and San Diego Old Aztecs along with less known squads like Pasadena Rugby, Los Angeles Rugby, and Downtown Rhinos.  The only D1 member not in the SCRFU is Tempe who represent the Arizona Local Union.  The upcoming season kicks off 14 January and runs until April 1st.

D2 and D3 are combined within the Pacific South, a total of 29 squads spanning 4 states from the Pacific coast to the Franklin Mountains of El Paso, Texas.  In the Arizona D2/D3 division the D2 Northern Arizona Landsharks, Red Mountain Warthogs, Scottsdale Blues and the D3 Camelback Rugby, Old Pueblo Lions, Phoenix Rugby, and Tucson Magpies.  The Rio Grande D2/D3 consists of Santa Fe Santos, New Mexico Brujos, El Paso Scorpions, Albuquerque Aardvarks, Fort Bliss Rugby, and Los Cruces Horny Toads.  Southern California’s D2/D3 are broken up into two divisions; the Gold and the White.  In the Gold Division the Temecula Mountain Lions, Orange County Ravens, San Diego Armada, Riverside Rugby, South Orange Count Gators, Los Angeles Rebellion, South Bay Stingrays, and Cardinal Rugby compete while in the White Division Dead Rabbit Rugby, Santa Barbara Grunion, Las Vegas Irish, Back Bay Sharks, Eagle Rock Athletic, Oxy Olde Boys, Huntington Beach Unicorns, and Beaumont Bluehawks via for the title.

So far I’ve identified the clubs playing along the western states and the southwest, coming up I’ll be moving into the heartland, the Midwest, Texas, and east as I continue my series laying out the structure of USA Rugby, identifying the clubs that play in our enormous country, and building on the foundation of future articles and profiles.

Up next: Frontier Competitive Region

Previous: Pacific North CR




One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s